Photonic Device Research Group

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Return to Home Page

Group Members

PDRG Director:

Professor Kent Choquette

PDRG Members:

Tom Fryslie
Zihe Gao
Bradley Thompson
Shiyi Chen
Katie Lakomy
Harshil Dave

PDRG Alumni:

Graduate Students

Degree Awarded and Year

Last Known Employment

Gautham Ragunathan

M.S. 2014

Microlink Devices

Capt. Janice Blane

M.S. 2014

West Point

Dr. Matthew T. Johnson

Ph.D. 2013


Dr. Hyejin Jeong

M.S. 2010, Ph.D. 2013

Dr. Meng Peun Tan

M.S. 2009, Ph.D. 2012


Nick Brown

M.S. 2011

Dr. Joshua Sulkin

M.S. 2007, Ph.D. 2011

Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX)

Tom Jefvert

M.S. 2011

Dr. Dominic Siriani

Ph.D. 2011

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Dr. Matthias Kasten

Ph.D. 2010

GE Global Research

Dr. Antonios Giannopoulos

M.S. 2006, Ph.D. 2010

MicroLink Devices

Dr. Chen Chen

M.S. 2006, Ph.D. 2009

McGill University

Dr. Chris Long

M.S. 2005, Ph.D. 2008

Purdue University

Dr. Ann Lehman Harren

M.S. 2004, Ph.D. 2007

Sandia National Laboratories (Livermore, CA)

Prof. Paul Leisher

M.S. 2004, Ph.D. 2007

Rose Hulman Institute of Technology

Dr. Yong Kwan (Robin) Kim

M.S., Ph.D. 2006

Quintessence Photonics Corporation (Sylmar, CA)

Dr. Dan Grasso

M.S. 2002, Ph.D. 2006

Coherent, Inc (Bridgeton, MO)

Karthik Samakkulam

M.S. 2005

Lt. Col. Jim Raftery

Ph.D. 2005

U.S. Military Academy (West Point, NY)

Prof. Aaron Danner

M.S. 2002, Ph.D. 2005

National University of Singapore

Chris Willis

M.S. 2004

Jason Lee

M.S. 2004

Alcoa, Inc (Newburgh, IN)

Ping Chen

M.S. 2002


Undergraduate Students


Current Employment

Clemens Ostermaier


Graduate Student in Korea

Mike Hwang


Graduate Student at Georgia Tech

Erin Yamaoka


Sonia Lala


Eric Shyu


Yi Zhang


Uppili Krishnamachari


Graduate Student, UCSB (Santa Barbara, CA)


Other Researchers

Position and Years

Current Employment

Woon-Kyung (Kevin) Choi

Visiting scientist 2005

Dr. Taesung Kim

Visiting scientist 2002-2004

Natetron Technologies, Inc. (Champaign, IL)

Dr. Erik Young

Post-doc 2002-2004

Sandia National Laboratories (Albuquerque, NM)

Dr. Noriyuki Yokouchi

Visiting scientist 2001-2003

Furukawa Electric (Tokyo, Japan)